Board of Directors

Olga Garza Kauffman

Patricia Pratchett
Bettie Ward

Past Grants Administrator
Elizabeth Ciarfeo

Past Directors
Lisa Adelman
Arturo Almeida
Gloria Arecchi
Rene Barilleaux
Alan Beckstead
Maria Elena Botello
Terry Brechtel
Christa Brothers
Armon Butch Brown
Steve Casanova
Mike Casey
Nate Cassie
Leslie Chasnoff
Chris Clairborne
Hugh Daschbach
Marlys Dietrick
Elizabeth Fauerso
Laura Gabrysch
Shannon Gowen
Kate Green
Linda Hardberger
Nina Hassle
Susan Oliver Heard
Tracey Curran Herman
Angelika Jansen, PhD
Leigh Anne Lester
James Lifshutz
Michael McClain
Therese McDevitt
Chris McKnight
Ana Montoya
Kate Mason
Devi Norton
Linda Packman
Dolly Poteet
Kathleen Tenniswood Powell
Patricia Pratchett
Leslie Raymond
Richard Rosen
Terri Timmins Rodgers
Ito Romo
Bobby Salluce
Roberta Sanchez
Ansen Seale
Robert Shearer
David Shelton
Katy Silva
Trish Simonite
John Speegle
Lobie Stone
Margie Vera
Belen Vinueza
Pam Wagner
Bettie Ward
Dan Ward
Jon Wood
Clinton Wright


History of the Artist Foundation of San Antonio

In 2006 the Artist Foundation was established by Bettie Ward and Patricia Pratchett.

As founders they shared a vision of a community where artists help shape the identity of our area by influencing how we look, sound and feel both to residents and visitors. They believed that the influence of artists should be evident in public art spaces, galleries, school art programs, music performance, private collections and community centers. That is, art is manifest; art is expected in everyday life. Through the Artist Foundation they created ongoing opportunities and support for individual artists. AF along with similar art organizations has provided a foundation for individual artists in our community.

The Foundation's goal was to grant awards annually to at least one artist in these categories: performing arts, visual arts, and literary arts. The number of awards granted depended on the number of applicants, the recommendations of the selection panels and the available funds. Foundation awards were granted exclusively for the creation of new, original work. The awardees were selected by a panel of artists, art professionals, art educators through a rigorous selection process. Through the years AF awards ranged from $5,000 to $15,000.

See the How to Apply page for detailed current information on awards eligibility and guidelines.

Donors and Support
Over the years the AF received generous support from various sources without which we could not have awarded the many grants. We are grateful and indebted to these organizations and many, many individuals who provided their time and money. In particular we thank the Department of Arts & Culture of the City of San Antonio, Tobin Endowment, Tobin Theatre Arts Fund, Estate of George Cortes, Elizabeth Huth Coates Foundation, Liberto Family, Lifshutz Foundation, Smothers Foundation, Friends of AF, Ann G. Ash, Patricia Pratchett & Bettie Ward, TNT San Antonio, Graham Weston, and Linda Pace Foundation.

Board of Directors, Volunteers & Friends
The success of AF rests on the shoulders of so many visionary and devoted individuals who shared the philosophy of the founders. They served on the board, they donated their time and treasure to committees, fundraisers, attendance to ticketed events, donations by artists of their artwork for auction, in sum they 'showed up' over and over again. There are too many to thank but special recognition is due to artist Chuck Ramirez who designed our AF logo and was the creative force behind the fabulous ArtBall 'galas'. Also Laura Gabrysch, a brilliant lawyer and first Chairman who jumped through hoops to get our non-profit status and organize our structure.

Non-Profit status
The AF is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.


Play Video
About the San Antonio Artist Foundation [VIDEO]
QuickTime required (Download QuickTime)   |   |    site map   |   privacy statement   |   site by seale studios