October 25, 2017

Press contact:
Susan Oliver Heard, Board chair


San Antonio, TX – Following a one-year hiatus to restructure, the Artist Foundation announces its exciting 11th grant cycle to include $60,000 in individual grants.

Currently, the Artist Foundation will provide the largest artist grants in Texas offered by an individual non-profit organization. This would not be possible without the support of Bexar County, the City of San Antonio, and the individuals and organizations that support the Artist Foundation. The Artist Foundation is essential to the arts ecosystem. We reach across disciplines and throughout Bexar County and San Antonio to transform the careers of active, working artists. The grants awarded to the artists empower them with the essential stepping-stone needed for future national recognition through grant and resident opportunities.

In honor of the Tri-centennial, the Artist Foundation seeks to celebrate the important role that artists play in shaping our community by awarding FOUR of the largest project-based grants in the history of the foundation. Foundation awards are $15,000 per category: visual arts, performing arts, literary arts, and people's choice. The people's choice award is a new award that will be determined by an online community-wide vote selected from the judge's finalists.

Artist Foundation awards are granted for the creation of new, original work with a specific project based work to be completed and presented by the fall of 2018. The Artist Foundation in partnership with the city of San Antonio and Bexar County will provide a space to showcase the winners. The awardees are selected by a panel of artists, art professionals, art educators and individuals from the community through a rigorous selection process by the board. Board members do not select the grant winners.

The open call is FREE to submit and begins October 26 and will close on December 22. Please visit artistfound.org to review the guidelines and submit your application. Judging will take place in December, with the winners to be announced at a free public reception mid-January. The year-end showcase will take place in Fall 2018, and will be free and open to the public.

Open Call: October 26 - December 22, 2017 at www.artistfound.org
Judging: December 23, 2017 - January 5, 2018
People's Choice Award Public Voting: January 8-15, 2018
Winners Announced: January 18, 2018
Public Showcase: Fall (October or November TBD) 2018

The purpose of the Artist Foundation is to enrich our artistic and economic fabric by providing monetary awards to individual artists, across diverse disciplines, thereby advancing their creative enterprise and the arts in our community.

The Artist Foundation has given $655,000 to 112 artists in ten cycles.

We believe that by granting awards and recognition to our artists the art market in San Antonio and Bexar County will grow, diversify, and prosper. Artists as small business owners play a significant role in economic development. Cities across this country have awakened to the fact that vibrant artistic communities not only enhance the experience of visitors and residents, but also stimulate business and garner the attention of employers and corporations.

For more information and to view previous winners and testimonials please visit http://www.artistfound.org

The Artist Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. The Foundation has been supported by Bexar County, The Department of Arts and Culture of the City of San Antonio, The Tobin Endowment, The Tobin Theatre Arts Fund, Estate of George Cortes, Elizabeth Huth Coates Foundation, Liberto Family, Lifshutz Foundation, Friends of Artist Foundation, Ann G. Ash, Patricia Pratchett & Bettie Ward, TNT San Antonio, Graham Weston, Friends of Chuck Ramirez, Smothers Foundation, and the Linda Pace Foundation.

We look forward to building more community support in the coming year.

Board of Directors: Susan Oliver Heard, Chair; Olga Kauffman, Vice Chair; Katy Silva, Secretary, Kate Mason, treasurer.

Directors: Hugh Daschbach, Susan Oliver Heard, Olga Kauffman, Kate Mason, Ansen Seale, Katy Silva.

Advisory Board: Arturo Almeida, Rene Barilleaux, Alan Beckstead, Terry Brechtel, Angelika Jansen Brown, Linda Hardberger, James Lifshutz, Patricia Pratchett, Bettie Ward.

info@artistfound.org   |   grants@LuminariaSA.org   |    site map   |   privacy statement   |   site by seale studios